Owens, Watkins to vie for Montgomery County Sheriff

With all the votes counted from yesterday’s primary elections in North Carolina, the scene is set for this fall’s general elections in Montgomery County.

140222_Election_Decision_2014_MoCo_WEB_400Montgomery County Sheriff Dempsey Owens won the Democratic primary and will be on the ballot again this November, where he will face Republican primary winner Chris Watkins. In the Democratic race, Owens received 1,286 votes, or nearly 51% of the votes cast in the contest, followed by Becky Wallace with 975, or almost 39%, and Maury Bowden with 260, or about 10.3%. Republican Chris Watkins received 823 votes, or about 68%, and his challenger, Terry Wells, collected 383 votes, or about 31.7%.

In the contest for Montgomery County Clerk of Superior Court, Democrat Franchion (Kay) Robinson took the top spot in the Democratic primary with 1,477 votes, which represents almost 62% of the ballots. Democrat challenger Edgar Morris gathered 906 votes, or about 38%. and will face Republican incumbent John K. Deaton, who was unopposed in the primary.

In other primary races affecting Montgomery County, Thom Tillis received more than 45% of the votes cast to win the Republican primary for U.S. Senate. There had been speculation that a runoff might be necessary in the contest, but Tillis was the clear winner, 18 percentage points ahead of challenger Greg Brannon, and more than 28% ahead of Mark Harris. This fall, Tillis will challenge incumbent Democrat Kay Hagan, who collected more than 77% of her party’s votes in a three-way race. Sean Haugh is the Libertarian candidate for the U.S. Senate, receiving more than 60% of his party’s votes in a contest against Tim D’Annunzio.

In the Republican primary for North Carolina Senate District 33, which represents part of Montgomery County, incumbent Stan Bingham received nearly 64% of the vote against challenger Eddie Gallimore. Bingham is unopposed in the fall general election.

In the Republican primary for North Carolina House of Representatives District 67, which also represents part of Montgomery County, incumbent Justin Burr collected more than 62% of the vote against challenger Peter Asciutto. This November, Burr will face Democrat challenger Nalin Mehta, who was unopposed in the primary.

Statewide, voter turnout was just under 16%, but in Montgomery County, participation was more than 24%, with 3,889 voters casting ballots in the primary. Vote totals remain unofficial until canvassed by the Board of Elections.

This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s