County turnout more than 50%, new sheriff, commissioner elected

Montgomery County voter turnout was more than 50% for the fall general election. 8,174 ballots were cast, and nearly a fourth (1,900) of those were during the early voting period. The total represents 50.7% of the county’s registered voters, more than six points better than the state turnout of 44%.

In the end, voters have elected a new Sheriff and one new County Commissioner and have decided to keep the sitting Clerk of Superior Court.

Republican challenger Chris Watkins won his bid to replace Democrat Dempsey Owens as Sheriff. Watkins carried precincts including Biscoe, Candor, Eldorado, Pee Dee, Troy 2 and Uwharrie to gain an advantage of about three percentage points in the final tally. Owens was the leader in precincts including Little River, Mount Gilead, Ophir, Rocky Springs, Star, Troy 1 and Wadeville, but finished 251 votes behind Watkins.

In the contest for two at-large seats on Montgomery County’s Board of Commissioners, Republican challenger Michael Criscoe received the most votes, finishing nearly 500 votes ahead of incumbent Democrat Jackie Morris. Criscoe and Morris will serve the new terms on the board. Incumbent Democrat Dolon Corbett finished third, more than 500 votes behind Morris.

Voters decided to keep John Deaton as Montgomery County Clerk of Superior Court. The Republican Deaton received 67.2% of the overall vote. Democrat challenger Franchion (Kay) Robinson did carry the Mount Gilead and Rocky Springs precincts.

Elsewhere in contests affecting Montgomery County, Republican Justin Burr won his bid for reelection to the North Carolina House of Representatives, and Republican Richard Hudson outpaced Antonio Blue to win another term as the state’s District 8 representative in the U.S. House.

In the Handy Sanitary District in northwest Montgomery and southern Davidson Counties, Norman Hunt, Debora Yarbrough and Charles Hobson were the top vote-getters for three seats on the district’s Board of Supervisors.

Click here to see final tallies by the precinct in contested local races in a previous article on There are also links to detailed countywide reports and statewide results.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s