Primary election results

In North Carolina’s primary election yesterday (Mar. 15), State House District 67 Representative Justin Burr narrowly defeated challenger Lane Burris to win the Republican primary by a margin of less than 2% overall. Burr will face Democrat Carson Snyder in the general election this November. Montgomery County Republicans voted more than 69% in favor of Burr.

Also in Montgomery County, District 1 incumbent Commissioner Jim Matheny successfully defended his seat against challenger Evan Grady in the Republican primary. Matheny is unopposed this fall.

In District 2, Wayne Wooten won the Democratic primary over Ella Smith. Wooten will face Republican Harold Vanderveer this fall in a race for the seat being vacated by retiring County Commissioner Tripp Myrick.

Across the state, voters favored Republican Donald Trump and Democrat Hillary Clinton in the presidential primaries. Incumbent Republican Pat McCrory will face Democrat Roy Cooper in the contest for governor.

Voters approved the Connect NC bond referendum by a margin of about 2-to-1.

For details on these votes and other contests across the state, click here to visit the results section of the North Carolina State Board of Elections website. Results remain unofficial until canvassed Mar. 22.

This entry was posted in Elections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s