Starting Jul. 1, 2016, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV) will begin assessing late fees when vehicle registrations are renewed after their expiration date.
In an announcement made today (Jun. 16), NCDMV outlined plans to charge the late fees as follows:
- No penalty when renewed on or before the last day of the current registration
- $15 penalty when renewed in the month following the expiration of the previous registration
- $20 penalty when renewed in the second month following the expiration of the previous registration
- $25 penalty when renewed two months or more following the expiration of the previous registration
The late fees are the implementation of North Carolina House Bill 97, adopted in Sep. 2015, and will be in addition to any interest that is already being collected on late renewals and property taxes paid after the renewal deadline.
As before, there will be a 15-day grace period during which motorists will not be ticketed for expired registration, but the late fees will be charged beginning the first day of the grace period.
Vehicle registrations can be renewed up to 90 days ahead of their expiration dates, provided safety and emissions inspections are completed, as required.
On the web: http://www.ncdot.gov/dmv